Connect with us

Hi, what are you looking for?

The Bandera Review Logo

Local News

Bandera Electric Cooperative Announces Winners of 2024 Youth Tour

Photo courtesy of BEC

Bandera Electric Cooperative (BEC) is delighted to unveil the winners of the highly anticipated Youth Tour for 2024. Four exceptional students have been chosen to embark on a memorable journey to Washington, D.C., sponsored by BEC.

The recipients of this esteemed opportunity are Kassidy Jernigan from Utopia High School, Zoe Zubky from Prospect Hill Homeschool, Taylor Hill from Leakey High School, and Emerson Carter from Comfort High School. These bright individuals epitomize the spirit of curiosity and enthusiasm that the Youth Tour embodies.

The Government-in-Action Youth Tour is a cherished tradition among Texas electric cooperatives, offering students a chance to explore the nation's capital, immerse themselves in its rich history, and engage with future leaders. From visiting historic landmarks to meeting congressional representatives, this trip promises an unforgettable experience.

"We couldn't be prouder to support these exceptional young leaders," said Bill Hetherington, CEO at BEC. "Their passion for learning and community embodies the values we cherish at BEC."

Scheduled from June 16 to June 25, the Youth Tour will provide these students with nine days of exploration, learning, and friendship. It offers a unique opportunity to gain insights into the energy industry, foster cultural understanding, and build lifelong connections with peers nationwide.

Since its establishment in 1965, the Youth Tour has been integral to Texas electric cooperatives' commitment to youth education and leadership development. Over 4,400 Texas youths have benefited from this transformative experience, thanks to organizations like Bandera Electric Cooperative.

As former Senator Lyndon B. Johnson once said, "sending youngsters to the national capital where they can actually see what the flag stands for and represents" is a powerful way to inspire future leaders. BEC is honored to contribute to this tradition.

Congratulations to Kassidy, Zoe, Taylor, and Emerson on this well-deserved honor

You May Also Like